Seventeen by Brian Carpenter

Seventeen
by Brian Carpenter

I don’t feel the way people say i should
i’m doing everything i can but it’s all no good
is it just growing up
or am i misunderstood

my mom says i’m getting taller
and i don’t want to see my dad
this would be a love song but there isn’t a girl to be had

its just another story about a dream
it all started out when i hit seventeen
i don’t do what i’m told no more
there’s no battles worth fighting for

I haven’t picked up the floor in weeks
I’m doing fine as long as the walls don’t speak
I’m alright just as long as my secrets keep
I’ll stay up tonight, never going to sleep

So here we are at the schism
You warned me from the very beginning of the final divide
I should have listened closer to those lies
It’s out of my control
I’m left with nothing but my soul

It’d take a fire to fuse the ends
So let’s pretend I’m a friend
I fear nothing, no harm or danger
I just feel like a stranger

I don’t feel the way people say i should
i’m doing everything i can but it’s all no good
is it just growing up
or am i misunderstood

Brian tells a Narrative!

But like I said, I was the kid who always got on base
With the cute smile that couldn’t be photographed
Shyness my main attribute and the girls found it cute
But girls are gross and have problems
I’m a Louisville slugger and a Los Angeles Dodger
I’d practice my curve ball but the front yard competes with traffic
Coach tells me it’s all in the wrist snap along with technique
He can do it without even thinking
I’m just a right fielder for now
After the games I would kiss my mother goodbye, but I can’t see her again till Wednesday
My dad’s new place is cozy enough with a fireplace and canary
It’s named “Bird” Lancaster; I don’t get the pun, but it died a few years ago
The house is pathetic except for the Christmas tree that I don’t dare touch
I can’t sleep without the lights on
This hovel will never feel like home

Leave a Reply

