Poetry from Joseph Schupbach

twenty four sharp pencils

on my twenty two minute walk to work, and in light of my impending twenty-
third birthday, i decided to purchase twenty four pencils.

and i did; along with an electric pencil sharpener and and a reem of partially
recylced paper.

next on the agenda, translate holla back girl into kings english and process
the unicorn and it’s many social evils.

and shower, and watch newly aquired will & grace DVD’s for inspiration.


jagged little burrito

Do I stress you out?
My tortillas on backwards and inside out
And you say how appropriate
I don’t want to dissect my meal today
I don’t mean to pick this burrito apart you see
But I can’t help it
There I go jumping before the burrito is finished
Slap me with a splintered ‘rito
And it would knock me to the floor if I wasn’t there already
If only I could hunt the hunter

And all I really want is some burritos
A way to calm the rumbling tum
And all I really want is sustenance

Do I wear you out?
You must wonder why my cravin’s relentless and all strung out
Im consumed by the chili on my flautas
I’m like tacobell
I like to wrap it up and eat it up
I’m frustrated by your nacho cheese
And I am frightened by the grade D meat on certain taco joints
If only I could eat the hard shelled life source
And I’m fascinated by the lard filled beans

I am humbled by the ‘rito’s humble nature

What I wouldn’t give to eat crunchwrap
A cheese-covered tostada wrapped in a tortilla
And what I wouldn’t give to meet at chipotle

Enough about me, lets talk about ‘ritos for a minute
Enough about ‘ritos, lets talk about RICE for a while
The black beans, cilantro and the sound of five-layer dip
Falling all around… all around

Why are you so petrified of cilantro
Here can you handle this?
Did you think about your beans, your tex-mex your empanadas
Or when your beans are going to re-fry
Or did you long for the next distraction
And all I need now is Burrito intercourse
An asada to dig the hole much deeper
And I have no concept of time and flautas frying
If only I could kill the killer

All I really want is some peas man
In my favorite side of mexi rice
And all I really want is a diet Pepsi
All I really want is some extra frijoles
A way to get my taco dairy free
And all I really want is some RITOS


you haven’t heard

i am out of my cocoon

i know, an over used image

get over it

i am

just send good thoughts my way

life is harder outside, although much more pleasing

Leave a Reply

